

DOWNTOWN SURREY BUSINESS IMPROVEMENT ASSOCIATION ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Thursday, February 23, 2023 Civic Hotel

Attending

Forty-three attendees (43) guests including twenty-nine (29) members REPRESENTING sixty-four (64) properties and twenty-three (23) businesses. The City of Surrey was represented by Councillor Linda Annis, Councillor Mike Bose, Councillor Rob Stutt and member of the Economic Development Team, Virginia Quon.

Welcome & Introductions:

Welcome by Randal Dhaliwal, DSBIA Vice-Chair. Elizabeth Model, CEO called the 2023 Downtown Surrey BIA AGM to order at 12:10pm and a quorum was established.

Agenda:

MOTION: That the Agenda for AGM on February 23, 2023 be adopted as circulated.

MOVED James Stewart SECONDED Kristin Bishop Carried

Minutes of AGM February 18, 2022 and Minutes of the EGM of July 20, 2022:

MOTION: The Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on February 18, 2022 and the EGM Minutes of July 20, 2022 be adopted as circulated.

MOVED Sonia Parmar SECONDED Michael Johanson Carried

Annual Report:

The Annual Report for 2022 was distributed along with the Looking Ahead 2023 work plan. It summarized the work and accomplishments for the year and included the proposed 2020 budget.

MOTION: The Annual Report 2022, Looking Ahead Report 2023 be accepted as presented.

MOVED Mike Nielsen SECONDED Sonia Parmar Carried

Financial/Auditor's Report:

MOTION: The Audited Financial Statements prepared by MNP for the period January 1st to December 31st, 2022 as presented by Perminder Tung be accepted as circulated.

MOVED Nissar Dalal SECONDED Harp Khela Carried

MOTION: The 2022 Budget found in Work Plan document for 2022 be accepted as presented.

MOVED Sonny Janda SECONDED Jamie Stewart Carried

Report of the Nominating Committee and Election of Board of Directors:

Directors with one year remaining in their term

Brad Howard Melanie Adamczewski Mike Nielsen
Michael Johanson Shirley Samujh-Dayal Soleman Hashmi
Austin Zhang Harp Khela Nissar Dalal

Directors Nominated and standing for re-election

Randal Dhaliwal Chris Gardner Sonny Janda Kathrin Matadeen

Perminder Tung

Nominated as first Term Directors

Lutz Sprecher Kristin Bishop Kirk Fisher Maury Dubuque

Sonia Parmar Stephen Dooley

Given the number of Members allowing their names to stand, the nominations do not exceed the number of vacancies; there will be no formal election of Directors. As per the DSBIA By-Laws, nominations are not accepted from the floor.

MOTION: To accept the slate as presented.

MOVED Lutz Sprecher SECONDED James Stewart Carried

Guests were asked if there were any further items of business to be addressed. No further items of business were identified.

MOTION: To conclude the AGM at 12:22pm

MOVED Sonny Janda SECONDED Nissar Dalal Carried

AGM ended at 12:22pm.

Randal Dhaliwal gave a thank-you on behalf of the DSBIA to James Stewart (who was in attendance), Joanne Curry and Charan Sethi who have all served numerous years on the Board. As per our Bylaw change in 2014, Directors can only serve four consecutive terms. Given James', Joanne's and Charan's contributions to the growth of Downtown Surrey and the DSBIA, we know they will continue to be involved as we move forward.

The event ended with recognition award presentations to some long-time (40+ years) businesses in Downtown Surrey.

- Bert's Automotive
- Seven Days Seafood & Grocery
- Whalley Optical
- Sprite Multimedia Systems, Ltd.
- Bozzini's Restaurant
- Ben's Appliances
- Fresgo Inn Restaurant
- Roath's Pawn Shop